What should I teach my little brother in Kindergarten after subtracting double digit numbers?

My little brother is pretty good at math and I'm not sure how to go about teaching him. He's in kindergarten and right now they are learning to subtract one. Because of the pandemic learning has been online and he has to do this google slides presentation every day. I was a swim instructor in college so I've been in charge of his education and teaching him because I've had the most experience with teaching. Right now his class is learning subtracting 1 from a given number so 4-1=.I taught him this about two weeks ago and he thinks it's so boring because he knows how to do it. He does math worksheets on it and practices his writing. He can already subtract and add double-digit numbers so what do I teach him next? My other siblings and I are so impressed with his math skills. When he does a worksheet correct we're always like "wow, you're so smart." We hype him up every chance we get. He has a lot of confidence in math and I think it's because of us hyping him up so much. I'm just not sure what the next step is. Is it multiplication? It seems a little too hard for a kindergartner. I tried for like a minute to teach him multiplication, but he didn't pick it up as fast as addition or subtraction so we kept doing subtraction for a while. I don't mind being patient and trying to teach him multiplication, but should we do negative numbers instead? We only do problems where the answer is positive so like 17-15=. Should we switch it up and it be 15-17=-2? Is this the next step?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago