What European countries would you recommend for a fourteen or fifteen-year-old to spend a semester abroad in?

Obviously, I won't be able to do it this year due to a certain global pandemic, but I'm hoping to have a chance to study abroad next year at fifteen. It's always been somewhere on my imaginary things-to-do-before-adulthood list, and I adore Europe.

I speak fluent Hungarian and Spanish, due to my Hungarian-Guatemalan parentage and the fact that my parents dedicated a lot to that, and I've been learning French for 2 years now. Having spent most of my life in the US, I also speak fluent English. My parents are very supportive (although slightly strict) and they are on board with my goals. 

I haven't yet been to any European countries besides Hungary, so I am looking to broaden my horizons. (I love Hungary but I'm so used to it that I don't think a semester abroad there would do much for me.)

Because of my English and Spanish, I would prefer not to be in a country that speaks one of those languages. This definitely crosses Spain and the UK off my list.

I would love to practice my French, but -- and I know this sounds stupid -- I don't want to visit France. I was thinking perhaps southern Belgium, but I'm not sure.

French aside, I would love to challenge myself with a language barrier. So French is not necessary, because learning a few phrases in, say, Czech so that I can get around would be something I'm more than willing to undertake.

I prefer a small group of students in the same program than a host family.

Thanks for reading through all of this! Your help is welcome!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Probably the best, though also the most expensive, country for a teen to spend a semester abroad is Switzerland.  There are many schools in French-speaking western Switzerland. This is one that is accredited:

https://www.las.ch/