promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsEngineering · 2 months ago

circuit boards?

Hey guys, I'm trying to learn how to make my own circuit board, any recommendations on where to start? Aside from actually taking college courses don't have the money for that. Also, I took apart one of the toys I have and I was wondering if you could tell me some of the components of this circuit board(I uploaded the image), just thought it'd be interesting to understand what's going on in the background. 

Attachment image

7 Answers

Relevance
  • A.J.
    Lv 7
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

That's a very low tech one. Find a mainboard of a dead laptop.

There is special software for auto-routing of circuit boards, unless buying a breadboard of plated holes and Pin-in-hole parts and hand wiring.

I'm a former procurement engineer and component engineer of IBM + Lenovo.

You can't tell much from part packaging without a part list and board markings.

You have two integrated circuits I circled in yellow.

The blue circle may be antenna indicating the big yellow would be a receiver/transmitter IC. You have a 16 Mhz crystal or oscillator with the purple circle.

The green circled are multilayer ceramic capacitors in various sizes. The brown circle 3 leg parts are discrete semiconductor as transistors or diodes typically. Some of the tiny parts are resistors, and can't say without a microscope. The light blue circled looks too short to be a polymer capacitor but top view photos can fool you.

Under a microscope, some of the little rectangular parts could be molded, making them diodes or transistors. You won't learn much this way. There are electronics parts kits for beginners at various part sets and prices

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/13973

https://www.ebay.com/p/18027565573?iid=15387672621...

Attachment image
    • ...Show all comments
    • memo2 months agoReport